MONROE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Skip to Main Content

Library Databases Guide (Electronic Resources): How to Use the Databases

To access the Databases from off-campus, you must log into MyMonroe.* If you are unable to see the Library Resources icon, please call IT at 646-393-8290 and request correction of your status from "Member" to "Student."

Pick a Topic for Essay or Research Paper On Gale In-Context Opposing Viewpoints Library Database

Browse Topics in Gale In-Context: Opposing Viewpoints Library Database

Browse Topics in Issues & Controversies (InfoBase) Library Database

Best Library Databases for Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Journal Articles

Access Peer Reviewed/Academic/ Scholarly Articles from these Library Databases. 

Gale Academic OneFile (Gale)

(Click on Advance Search, then click on Peer-Reviewed Journals)

Research Library (ProQuest) (ProQuest) 

(Check the box marked Peer reviewed.)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (Ebsco)

Download articles that you want to use in your paper! This way you can refer to them as you continue your research. Choose Print. Then, when the Print dialogue box opens up, choose Save as PDF from the Destination dropdown menu. In EBSCO, the best way to save an article is to use the PRINT feature. (DON’T click Save; clicking Save will result in an HTML formatted document, which is harder to work with.)

ALL Databases offer the ability to Download Full-Text Articles and APA Citations. 

Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.

 

All Databases Offer Tools to Download Full Text of Articles and Cite in APA 7 Format

 

Search for Background or Historical Information Using Credo Reference Database

Use Google Scholar for Scholary/Peer Reviewed/ Academic Articles Search

Google Scholar Search

Use this box to search for articles on your topic in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar can be a good source of scholarly journal articles.

Hint: If you find a link to an article in Google Scholar, but don't have access to the full text, try looking for that article in the databases. The databases offer full-text access to many articles not available elsewhere. 

Download Articles and APA Citations

ALL Databases offer the ability to 
Download Full Text Articles and APA Citations. 

When you use the Full-text function in the databases, your search results will show articles that you can download in their entirety. Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.

 

All Databases Offer Tools to Download Full Text of Articles and Cite in APA 7 Format

 

Use the illustration above to locate these functions in the database toolbars, or download How to Use the Databases for full details and instructions.

Where to Look for Topic Ideas

Need some ideas for an essay topic? 

Girl Having Thoughts

 

Looking for an issue to write/speak about? 

Read your assignment carefully for details of required or suggested topics.

Current Events

Context-oriented Websites and Databases:

ProCon.org     OR

Gale Opposing Viewpoints Database (click on Browse Issues).

​​​Try our list of credible news sources.

Topics in your life

What issues are directly affecting you right now?

● The City: (for local issues like: education, economy, transportation, housing, justice, elections, environment, and work).

● APA’s Psychology Topics (for mental health issues, e.g.: stress, personality, depression, anxiety, etc.)

● National Institutes of Health (for health and medical topics, e.g.: diabetes, heart health, COVID, fitness, healthy eating, etc.)

                THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY