Library Databases Guide (Electronic Resources): Search Tips & Periodical Types

To access the Databases from off-campus, you must log into MyMonroe.* If you are unable to see the Library Resources icon, please call IT at 646-393-8290 and request correction of your status from "Member" to "Student."

Some Quick Tips to Help You Search

* If searching off-campus, log into MyMonroe for remote access.

* If you receive an authentication error message, clear your browser's cache and reopen the database.

* If you have problems accessing a database, contact library@monroeu.edu.

* Click "full-text" box to eliminate abstracts (summaries) only from search results.

* Use the citation tools within the database to format your citations according to APA or MLA rules.

* Try variant keyword terms in your searches to get the results you want. If you're getting too many hits, narrow your search by typing in more specific search terms; If too few results, broaden your search terms.

* Limit to full-text. If you see a check box marked full-text, click on it.

Periodical Types

PERIODICAL TYPES: SCHOLARLY JOURNALS / TRADE JOURNALS / POPULAR MAGAZINES

There are generally three (3) types of publications, which you should distinguish as follows:	Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly Journals	Trade Journals	Popular Magazines
Audience	Scholars, researchers, practitioners.	Members of a specific business, industry or organization.	General public.
Authors	Experts in the field (ie faculty members, researchers). Authors named and institutional affiliations given.	Magazine staff members, contributing authors or freelance writers. Authors usually named.	Magazine staff members, journalists, freelance writers. Authors may be anonymous (ie articles are unsigned).
Editors	Editorial board of outside scholars (peer review)	Editors work for publisher.	Editors work for publisher.
Publishers	Often a scholarly or professional organization or a university press.	Often a trade organization.	Commercial, for profit.
Content	Research projects, methodology, literary criticism, and theory.	Industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news.	News, personalities and general interest articles.
Writing Style and Language	Terminology, jargon & language of the discipline covered. Assumes reader has s scholarly background.	Uses terminology and language of trade or industry covered.	Easy to read, simple language used. Aimed at the layperson.
References or Bibliographies	Articles include a bibliography, references, notes and/or works cited section	Articles may have short bibliographies.	Articles rarely include references.
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology PLOS ONE JAMA Open – the Open-Access arm of the Journal of the American Medical Association	Journal of Internet Banking and Commerce Corrections Today CyTA Journal of Food	Psychology Today Vice Magazine Game Informer

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY

EMAIL: library@monroeu.edu -- Bronx Campus (646) 393-8333 / New Rochelle Campus (914)-740-6437