Library Databases Guide (Electronic Resources): All Databases

This well-known database covers thousands of leading business publications.
.The ABI/INFORM Collection contains full-text scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, company profiles, industry reports, working papers, and global business news. It covers key disciplines such as accounting, economics, finance, information technology, management, marketing, operations, real estate, risk management, and supply chain, and it includes major titles.

Academic OneFile contains articles from 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text; hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC; and full-text New York Times content. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.

This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

ProQuest Family Health covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

An easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Credo Reference is a research starting point for students looking for background information to inform their topic. With millions of articles pulled from hundreds of books, Credo is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

This link simultaneously searches all databases, products and services available at Monroe.

Formerly e-Books on EBSCOHost and formerly NetLibrary, it provides access to e-books (digital versionss of books and journals). You can access the library’s eContent 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966

Formerly Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. This database has a strong collection of trade magazines and provides company and industry profiles, financial information, and investment reports. Select the "Advanced Search" tab to search for articles using keywords.

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.

Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts.

Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.

Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.

Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.For multidisciplinary research.Periodical articles on a wide range of topics including art, business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Provided by NOVEL-NY*

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.

This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Issues & Controversies presents articles in pro/con format that are supported by statistics, timelines, and primary sources. Many issues feature original videos and educator resources, as well as debate videos, newspaper editorials, audio content, and breaking news.

A full-text database covering comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary.

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries

Answer the age-old question, “What do I read next?” Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics. THESE ARE NOT E-BOOKS. THESE ARE BOOKS SUGGESTIONS TO READ.

Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.

Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas.

Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.

The Literature Resource Center is a comprehensive and reliable database of full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.

Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.

Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles.

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.

Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations.

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers. CREATE AN ACCOUNT.

Quality interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching, Jstor contains more than a thousand academic journals and over a million images, letters, and other primary sources and is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.

Mergent Online is a database of corporate information on over 25,000 U.S. public companies, over 35,000 foreign public companies, and over 34,000 private companies. Information available for each public company includes:

A complete corporate history;
Lists of subsidiaries, property holdings, and key personnel;
Up to 25 years of annual and quarterly financial data;
Up to 10 years of scanned, full-image annual reports, including SEC filings;
Extensive information about the corporation's current long term debt;
Links to recent news reports;
Reports on insider and institutional owners.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition™ is a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Electronic access to over 500 SAGE journal titles in business, humanities, law, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine with a back file to 1999.

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

The Serials Directory™ provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1980 - current

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news form the renowned Facts on File World News Digest in print.