Library Databases Guide (Electronic Resources): Email Article with APA Citations from Library Databases

When you find an article you would like to use in your Research paper, essay, or project, ALWAYS save it by downloading it from the database—even if you print a copy, you should save a backup copy.

This way, you will be able to copy and paste source material directly into your research paper (with proper in-text citations, of course!) and have all of your citation information available to copy and paste into your References page. 

• Copy and paste the article title into the Subject Field of the library database—see the example below. This will eliminate confusion when you scroll through your Inbox and allow you to find articles you sent to yourself easily.
• Under Citation Format, Select APA 7 (American Psychological Association) - The article will arrive in your Inbox with a pre-formatted APA-style citation, which you can copy and paste directly into your References page for APA Research Paper.
• Select the HTML Full Text or PDF Download Option

ALL Databases offer the ability to 
Download Full Text Articles and APA Citations. 

When you use the Full-text function in the databases, your search results will show articles that you can download in their entirety. Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.

Use the illustration above to locate these functions in the database toolbars, or download How to Use the Databases for full details and instructions.

For ProQuest Databases

For Ebsco Databases: 

For Gale Databases: