Library Databases Guide (Electronic Resources): Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Don't forget:
In order to search for academic and scholarly articles, you'll need to log in to the Library Databases.

1.) Login to MyMonroe. 

 2.) Click on the Library Resources icon.

 3.) Choose +Databases .

Your professor may require that you use peer-reviewed journal articles as sources for your research.

WHY USE PEER-REVIEWED JOURNAL ARTICLES? 

Because these articles generally contain the best (and often the most current) information available on a given subject. 

Academic and scholarly journal articles must be: 

• written by scholars conducting and reporting on research on their particular topic and then
• reviewed by a panel of the author's peers (i.e. peer-reviewed by other experts ​in the field) before the article is published.

The review process means the article must meet high standards of:

• Currency (meaning the information is current at the time of publication),
• Relevance (meaning the article is highly relevant to the subject it addresses, without commercial subtext or other issues distracting from the topic),
• Accuracy (meaning the article has been checked for any bias or missing/misleading information),
• Authenticity (meaning the author's credentials have been verified and their cited sources confirmed), and 
• Purpose (meaning the author must be free of commercial motivation for their writing; it must be informational and/or educational in its purpose).

This process is meant to ensure the integrity of the journal, as well as the quality of the article.

For best results, you should start your search in a database that specializes in academic and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles. See a list of specialized databases in the column to the right: →

Access Peer Reviewed/Academic/ Scholarly Articles from these Library Databases. 

Gale Academic OneFile (Gale)

(Click on Advance Search, then click on Peer-Reviewed Journals)

Research Library (ProQuest) (ProQuest) 

(Check the box marked Peer reviewed.)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (Ebsco)

ALL Databases offer the ability to Download Full-Text Articles and APA Citations. 

Be sure to download the full text of all articles you wish to use for your paper, and be sure to download and save the APA 7 citation for all articles you download.