MONROE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Skip to Main Content

Library Databases Issue with EbscoHost and ProQuest

We are currently having connection issues with ProQuest and EbscoHost Databases.
In the meantime, please use any GALE Library Database for research. If it prompts you for a password, please enter 'monroe'.
We apologize for the inconvenience and are working to get this matter resolved quickly. 

Monroe University Libraries and Virtual Reference Desk

The virtual reference desk provides real-time assistance for your research needs. It's a way to extend our support and resources to those who cannot visit the library in person.

CLICK HERE FOR LIVE HELP DURING VIRTUAL LIBRARY HOURS
 

Below are the Virtual Reference Desk, Bronx and New Rochelle Campus Library Hours For the Fall Semester '24.

Monroe University Libraries Locations & Contact Information

EMAIL: library@monroecollege.edu

 

Dr. Donald E. Simon Memorial Library (Bronx Campus)

Phone: 646-393-8333  

King Hall, 2nd Floor 

New Rochelle Campus Library

Phone: 914-740-6437

Enter through Main Hall, adjacent to the Culinary Department 

Monroe University Librarians

Chanté Hope, Director of Library Services 

Tom Gordon, New Rochelle Campus Librarian 

Evan Frankl, Bronx Campus Librarian

One-on-One Research Appointments

One-on-One Research Appointments with Librarians

Appointments begin Monday, September 23rd.

In the meantime, please use the Virtual Reference Desk during operating hours or email library@monroecollege.edu. 

Monroe University Libraries assists students in research, finding credible sources, database searching, and APA formatting.

 Sign up below to schedule an appointment, or CLICK HERE.

If you need immediate assistance with brief or basic questions, use The Virtual Reference Desk. 

 

Access the Library Databases:

The library's databases can be accessed at any time, 24/7, by logging into MyMonroe.
Click on the Library Resources icon* Library Resources Icon MyMonroe, and then choose Databases:

 *If you don't see the Library Resources icon, call the IT Help Desk at 646-393-8290 and request your status to be changed from Member to Student.

                    MyMonroeLoginScreenshot 

 

Click here for detailed instructions on using the databases.

Library Rules Conduct on Campus Libraries

Rules of Conduct for Students on Campus Libraries

 

Maintain Silence: 

  • Keep noise to a minimum. Conversations should be whispered. 

  • Use of headphones is permitted, but ensure that no sound escapes. 

Respect Library Materials: 

  • Handle all physical books and computer workstations with care. 

  • Report any damaged items to the library staff. 

Food and Drinks: 

  • Only drinks with lids and light snacks are allowed in the library. 

  • Large meals are not permitted to maintain a clean and quiet environment. 

Cell Phone and Device Usage: 

  • Take phone calls outside the library premises to avoid disturbing others. 

  • Use headphones when participating in virtual or online classes. 

Respect Study Spaces: 

  • Do not reserve study tables or spaces. They are available on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Personal Belongings: 

  • Keep personal belongings with you at all times. Do not leave bags or books on tables to reserve them. 

Respect Library Staff: 

  • Follow the instructions given by library staff. 

  • Report any issues or disturbances to the library staff immediately. 

Tell Us How You Feel - Take Our Library Experience Survey

Help us improve library services!
We'd love to know which services you use and what we can to do improve your experience. 

 

Great Databases to Start Your Research

Credo Reference

Background information to start your research. If you need an article from an encyclopedia, or a broad introduction to help break down a general topic area, Credo is your starting point. 

For off-campus access to these and all Monroe College Library databases, log in through
My Monroe > Library Resources > Databases

 

General OneFile Topic Finder

Topic Finder breaks down ideas visually. Tiles arranged by size help you find new topics or keywords and discover new connections found in the top results.They are similar to MindMaps you might create when brainstorming a topic.

For off-campus access to these and all Monroe College Library databases, log in through
My Monroe > Library Resources > Databases

 

ProQuest Research Library Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

ProQuest Research Library

Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

For off-campus access to these and all Monroe College Library databases, log in through
My Monroe > Library Resources > Databases

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

This database provides information and opinions on hundreds of current social issues with continuously updated viewpoints and topic overviews. If you need a pro/con statement in favor of or against a particular social or political issue, you'll find both sides of many problems represented here.

For off-campus access to these and all Monroe College Library databases, log in through
My Monroe > Library Resources > Databases

Shuttle Bus Schedule for the Fall 2024 Semester

  • Last Updated: Sep 20, 2024 1:31 PM
  • URL: https://monroeuniversity.libguides.com/home
  • Print Page