MONROE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Skip to Main Content

Nursing and Allied Health Information Resources: Allied Health Web Resources

This guide should be useful to nursing and allied health majors.

Resources for Federal Government Reports & Statistics

Search Across Government Agencies & Databases

  • USA.gov

The U.S. government's official web portal is a useful resource for Public Health and Criminal Justice data.

The Master Portal to all Open US Government data. 
Here, you will find data, tools, and resources for conducting research, developing web and mobile applications, designing data visualizations, and more.

Public Health Data Sources

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a CDC-run health-related telephone survey system that collects state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

This site includes Occupational Outlook data on salary and benefits, wages by occupation, and employment projections.

This includes Infographics, Data, Statistics and Tools, Research Tools and Data, Specific Populations, and more. AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

Federal Government Census information -  Topics area includes datasets organized by:
Age and Sex, Business and Economy, Education, Emergency Preparedness, Employment, Families & Living Arrangements, Geography, Health, Housing, Income & Poverty, International Trade, Migration/Geographic Mobility, Population, Population Estimates, Race, and Voting and Registration. 

Users can search across federal agencies and research agencies by subject.

The nation's principal health statistics agency provides quick and easy access to a wide range of information and data. The A-Z index is structured to provide users multiple access points to health topics, and also includes common and scientific terms.

PRB specializes in world population, health, and environmental information. Their site includes DataFinder, which is a database containing data on world variables for over 200 countries. Other research tools include data sheets, webcasts, graphic banks, and U.S. Census 2010.

Criminal Justice Data Sources

BJS is the Department of Justice's primary statistical agency. Its mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

According to their website, the FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal and noncriminal law enforcement data sharing; improve law enforcement accountability; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy, resulting in a safer nation.

Links to multiple websites which contain statistical and historical data that may be useful for research purposes.

The Committee on Law and Justice’s (CLAJ) mission is to improve government decision-making and public policy and promote the understanding and dissemination of research on law and justice.

This page provides users access to the Commission's special data files for researchers studying federal sentencing practices through quantitative methods.

Drugs and Medication

National Institutes of Health (NIH) DailyMed

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). It also features up-to-date, look-up, and download resource of medication content and labeling.

Drug Interaction Checker

This service allows you to take the preventive step of determining if the drugs you are taking interact with each other, certain foods, or cause bad reactions.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) Drugs Section: For Health Professionals

This USFDA page includes health topics such as bilogics, cosmetics, drugs, food safety, recalls, among others.

Finding a Doctor

American Medical Association-Directory of Physicians

This site provides physician data for more than 650,000 doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or osteopathic medicine. It also includes information on diseases and illnesses.

New York State Department of Health Physician Profiles

Information Available on All Doctors

Certain information is required to be available on all physicians. Such information includes:

  • Information about the doctor's medical education
  • Information about translation services at the doctor's office
  • Information about legal actions taken against the doctor

To see all the information that is available for each doctor, search on any doctor's name.


New Jersey State Health Care Provider Quick Search 

Information Available on All Doctors:

  • Edcuation
  • Pratice Information
  • Legal Actions
  • Professional Activities

NY Home Health Care & Nursing Homes

A summary of 256 private pay and Medicare/Medicaid certified home care agencies is featured on this site.

A list of state home care agencies and programs is featured here.

Use this site to find information about nursing homes, home health agencies, and hospice programs.

You can filter your search by zip code and city. The site also includes state nursing home statistics.

               THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY             

    EMAIL: library@monroeu.edu -- Bronx Campus (646) 393-8333 / New Rochelle Campus (914)-740-6437