Education Resources: Library Databases and Books

This guide will help you become aware of high quality information on childhood education from the university library, web resources, and professional organizations.

Recommended Journals

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Credo Reference
An easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Credo Reference is a research starting point for students looking for background information to inform their topic. With millions of articles pulled from hundreds of books, Credo is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
Education Database
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.

Search Strategies: Subject Headings

Following are a sample of Library of Congress Subject Headings related to Childhood Education. The Library of Congress (LC) subject headings can be used when searching both the Library catalog and the library’s online databases.

Education * Early Childhood Education
Teaching * Teachers

For a more narrow topic, try using one or more of these terms, which are by no means comprehensive:

Bilingual Education * Effective Teaching
Curriculum Planning * Lesson Planning
Childhood Development * School Discipline
Teaching Aids and Devices * Student Teaching
Educational Tests and Measurements * Special Education
Classroom Management * ESL or ELL

Finding Books in the Libraries

The books at the Monroe University Libraries are organized according to their subject using Library of Congress call numbers. Books on childhood education can be found under the following call numbers:

BF: Psychology & Related Sci.
HQ: Sociology : Family and Home
L: Education (General)
LA: History of education
LB: Theory and practice of education
LC: Special aspects of education
LD: Individual institutions - U.S.A

(These suggested LC call numbers are for shelf browsing purposes only, and are by no means comprehensive.)

Search The Library Catalog

SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOG

Circulating Books (Books to Borrow)

The library has Circulating copies of books in many subject areas, such as Criminal Justice, Business, Healthcare and Culinary Arts. These books may be borrowed and taken out, using your Monroe University ID.

e-Books

e-Books may be borrowed and read online, at the library or remotely via MyMonroe. They are fully searchable, and selected chapters may be downloaded for use in your research.

Reference Books

Our Reference collection contains standard, core titles in many disciplines for basic research. These books may be used in the library only.

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY

EMAIL: library@monroeu.edu -- Bronx Campus (646) 393-8333 / New Rochelle Campus (914)-740-6437