MONROE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Edition

This guide gives the basic rules of using APA Format . Learn how to: write an abstract; format headings; format in-text citations; and construct your References page.

Annotated Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of all of your sources. (This is different than a Reference List, which includes only the sources you cited in your paper!)

An annotated bibliography includes a summary (or an annotation) for each of your sources.

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography has some similarities to a References page but is more detailed.

The Reference page lists properly formatted citations (or references). However, it is for all the sources (books, articles, documents, etc.) that you reviewed in preparation for writing the bibliography.

At the end of each citation, add a short paragraph describing each article, book, or other source listed on your References page.

What's included in an annotated bibliography's annotation section?

Your annotation/summary should tell the reader (refer to your assignment):

  • A summary: what is the source about? 
  • Who wrote the source? Is it from a highly qualified source? (Is the author an expert on the topic? Do they work for a government agency (FBI, CDC, etc.), are they a professional journalist, or is it just a personal blog?)
  •  End the annotation by explaining how and where you will use this source in your paper.

Keep in mind that annotations are supposed to be a brief description of your source. YouYou'rest summarizing the article and then briefly saying how it relates to your paper - if people reading your bibliography want to know more, they can find the work and read it directly. 

Format Citations and Annotations

Format Citation:

  1. Copy and paste the citations (from the LIBRARY DATABASES or CITEFAST) onto your Blank Microsoft Word Document.
    • Note: When you copy and paste the citation, it may not match; please follow the directions below for proper format.
  2. Your citations should appear alphabetically by the first character of the citation.
  3. Your citations should all be FONT: TIMES NEW ROMAN & FONT SIZE: 12
  4. Double Spaced
    • Instructions how to double space
  1. Click on “paragraph settings” next to the paragraph option in the Microsoft Word Ribbon. .

  1. Then under the ‘spacing’ section under ‘line spacing’ select ‘double’.
  1. Each Citation MUST HAVE Hanging Indents
    • Instructions to create a hanging indent:
      1. Click on ‘paragraph settings’ next to the ‘paragraph’ option in the Microsoft Word Ribbon. .

      1. Then under the ‘indentation’ section under ‘special’ select ‘hanging’.

 

Format Annotation:

  • Double-spaced throughout.

  • Annotation comes directly after the citation. 

  • Set your Annotation back 1” from the left-hand margin (press the tab key on the keyboard).
  •  Use the third person – do not use “I.
  •  Use the Signal Phrases.
    • Examples: “This article discusses…” ; “In this article, the author supports…”: “This book gives a detailed view on…," “The author describes…"

YOUR ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY SHOULD LOOK LIKE THIS:

 

Citation - First Line of Citation begins at Left Margin. Use a ½” Hanging Indent. Annotation - Appears begins on a new line, directly under the last line of the citation.

 

SAMPLE 2: SAMPLE BIBLIOGRAPHY

The following example uses APA style (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition, 2019) for the journal citations:

 

A Monroe University Research Guide

     THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY     

    EMAIL: library@monroeu.edu -- Bronx Campus (646) 393-8333 / New Rochelle Campus (914)-740-6437