Using the New York Public Library: NYPL Electronic Databases

The New York Public Library (NYPL) offers some unique and powerful resources to aid you in your research.

NYPL Electronic Databases Available from Home with Your NYPL Card

You must have a valid New York Public Library card and PIN number in order to use these databases.

You can take practice tests for many professional exams at Learning Express Library; learn a new language using Mango Languages; or take an online course to develop your IT, business or graphic arts skills with LinkedinLearning.

Browse the list of valuable resources below, and take advantage of the wealth of free opportunities your New York Public Library card makes available to you.

Visit https://nypl.org/databases for the full list of available resources.

African American Experience Database

ACLU Papers 1912-1995

BrillOnline Reference Works

World Book Online Reference Center

Description: Online edition of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories.

Europa World Plus

Flipster Current Magazines

Description: Access over 100 popular magazines through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading.

Learning Express Library

Description: Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.

Biography in Context

Explora Elementary Teacher Resources

Description: Searches across content geared toward elementary school students, such as Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Children's Dictionary. Includes material previously accessed through Searchasaurus and Kids Search.

Freedom Flix

Description: Dynamic e-books and short informational films from Scholastic captures the defining moments in American history.

Mango Languages

Description: Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for: Arabic, Cantonese, Mandarin, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Brazilian Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese speakers. A text translator is provided.

Subjects: Language and Literature; Linguistics; Reference; Education

THIS RESEARCH OR "LIBGUIDE" WAS PRODUCED BY THE LIBRARIANS OF MONROE UNIVERSITY

EMAIL: library@monroeu.edu -- Bronx Campus (646) 393-8333 / New Rochelle Campus (914)-740-6437