Criminal Justice Resources: Criminal Justice Websites

• Officer.com 
  • News and information source for the police and law enforcement community.
• Corrections1 
  • News stories, blogs, articles and many links to additional resources, including national and local corrections associations and organizations.

• New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services 
  • From the website: "... a multi-function criminal justice support agency with a variety of responsibilities, including collection and analysis of statewide crime data; operation of the DNA databank and criminal fingerprint files; administration of federal and state criminal justice funds; support of criminal justice-related agencies across the state; and administration of the state’s Sex Offender Registry that allows anyone to research the status of an offender."
• New York Police Department Official Website (NYPD) 
  • Includes career information, precinct maps, and borough and precinct crime statistics.
• New York State Department of Correctional Services 
  • Includes research reports, inmate look-up, and facility directory.
• Civilian Complaint Review Board 
  • New York City's CCRB website provides guidelines for filing citizen complaints against the police and publishes regular status reports.
• Westchester County Department of Public Safety
  • Includes links to Investigative and Patrol Services and Annual Reports.
• New York State Unified Court System 
  • Includes a directory of public access law libraries throughout New York State.
• New York City Department of Corrections
  • "The New York City Department of Correction is dedicated to creating a safe, supportive environment while providing individuals in our care with a path to successfully re-enter their communities. The Department provides for the care and custody of people ordered to be held by the courts awaiting trial or those convicted and sentenced to one year or less of jail time."
• NYS Unified Court System - Drug Treatment Courts
  • ​​​​​​​"Drug courts use a collaborative approach to treatment involving defense attorneys, prosecutors, treatment and education providers, and law enforcement officials. Non-violent offenders voluntarily enter the program"
• NYS Unified Court System - Human Trafficking Intervention Courts
  • ​​​​​​​"The Unified Court System’s Human Trafficking Intervention Courts (HTICs) are committed to ensuring trauma-informed responses to justice-involved victims of sex trafficking....HTICs incorporate the key principles of problem-solving courts"
• New York State Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services
  • ​​​​​​​"provides leadership, coordination, and support to prevent, protect against, prepare for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate disasters and other emergencies.... through its directorates and several cross-cutting support units including Counter Terrorism, Emergency Management, Fire Prevention and Control, Interoperable & Emergency Communications, Disaster Recovery, and Administration & Finance,"
• NYPD Hate Crime Data
  • ​​​​​​​"Hate Crimes are offenses that are motivated in whole or substantial part by a person's, a group's or a place's identification with a particular race, religion, ethnicity, gender, age, disability, ancestry, national origin or sexual orientation."
• NYS Attorney General - Hate Crimes
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​"Hate crimes are on the rise, here in New York and around the country....My office can sue when victims are targeted because of race, gender, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, or other reasons."

• INTERPOL 
  • INTERPOL is the world’s largest international police organization, with 188 member countries. Created in 1923, it facilitates cross-border police co-operation, and supports and assists all organizations, authorities and services whose mission is to prevent or combat international crime.
• United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
  • UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997 through a merger between the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention, UNODC operates in all regions of the world through an extensive network of field offices.
• World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems 
  • This factbook provides narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 45 countries around the world. The original 42 descriptions were completed in 1993. The latest 5 entries including two updated country profiles were prepared in 2002.

These suggested sites are only a starting point for finding information on the United States Criminal Justice System; they are not intended to be a comprehensive listing.

• Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) 
  • ATF is the law enforcement agency of the U. S. Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.
• Federal Bureau of Investigations 
  • From the Website: "What we Investigate: Spies. Terrorists. Hackers. Pedophiles. Mobsters. Gang leaders and serial killers. We investigate them all, and many more besides."
• Central Intelligence Agency 
  • The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) is an independent US Government agency that provides national security intelligence to senior US policymakers.
• Department of Homeland Security 
  • From the Website: The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 230,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, but our goal is clear—keeping America safe.
• Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
  • The DEA, a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, is the agency responsible for enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States. This site includes drug information resources, DEA's Most Wanted and drug law enforcement facts, and more.
• National Institute of Justice (NIJ) 
  • NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. NIJ strives to provide objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the state and local levels.
• Office of Justice Programs: Office for Victims of Crimes 
  • One of seven components within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. OVC is committed to enhancing the Nation’s capacity to assist crime victims and to providing leadership in changing attitudes, policies, and practices to promote justice and healing for all victims of crime.
• Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) 
  • OJJDP, a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families.
• Federal Bureau of Prisons 
  • An agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, the Bureau of Prisons website includes inmate and facilities locators among many other tools.
• United States Secret Service 
  • The Secret Service safeguard's the nation's financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and protects national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites and National Special Security Events.
• COPS: Community Oriented Policing Services 
  • COPS is the office of the U.S. Department of Justice that advances the practice of community policing in America’s state, local and tribal law enforcement agencies.
• Office on Violence Against Women \
  • OVW (part of the DOJ) administers financial and technical assistance to communities across the country that are developing programs, policies, and practices aimed at ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking. Our website has updated information on recent events, information about OVW grant programs, OVW grantees and technical assistance providers, and other resources.

• U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) 

• U.S. Marshals Service
  • "The mission of the U.S. Marshals Service is to enforce federal laws and provide support to virtually all elements of federal justice system through multiple disciplines."
• U.S. Marshals Service - Fugitive Task Force
  • ​​​​​​​"The success of U.S. Marshals task force initiatives, combined with the outstanding relationships forged with other law enforcement agencies, has led to the formation of permanent fugitive task forces, as well as ad-hoc task forces in response to unique cases that pose immediate threat to the public."
• U.S. Department of Justice - Hate Crimes
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​"...what a hate crime is in simple terms, defines the terms "hate" and "crime," and provides answers to the frequently asked questions: "Why have hate crime laws?" and "Why report hate crimes?" In addition, you can find definitions for hate crime and bias/hate incident, (Also available in Espanol)