Book Displays: Poetry Month 4/24

Swole

How does one survive a disaster of such magnitude that it uproots a culture, a history, a life? Jerika Marchan's SWOLE helicopters over the breached levee and breakwater, as roofs rip and fly like paper over her home city, in the midst of Hurricane Katrina. This is not a past. It is a present of immense proportion, and Marchan's lyric gift lifts us right into the eye of the storm. This is poetry of unimaginable strength and deliverance.

Autopsy

"Written after the death of his mother, Donte Collins's Autopsy establishes the poet as one of the most important voices in the next generation of American poetry. As the book unfolds, the reader journeys alongside the author through grief and healing. In the words of the author, the book is a spring thaw -- the new life alongside the old, the good cry and the release after." - - From the Publisher

A Caribbean dozen : poems from 13 Caribbean poets

Me No Habla with Acento : Contemporary Latino poetry

This collection includes: Edwin Torres, Rigoberto Gonzalez, Maria Rodriguez-Morales, Erik "Advocate of Wordz" Maldonado, Bonafide Rojas, Luzma Umpierre, Paul S. Flores, Roberto "Simply Rob" Vassilarakis, Caridad de la Luz "La Bruja", Nancy Mercado, Urayoan Noel, Chris "Chilo" Cajigas, Latasha N. Nevada Diggs, Roberto F. Santiago, Frank Perez, Sheila Maldonado, John "Chance" Acevedo, Machete Movement, Lisa Alvarado, A. B. Lugo, Jason "Majestik Originality" Hernandez, Myrna Nieves, Tito Luna, and Carlos Andres Gomez

101 Great American Poems

Focusing on popular verse from the 19th and 20th centuries, this treasury of great American poems offers a taste of the nation's rich poetic legacy. Selected for both popularity and literary quality, the compilation includes Robert Frost's "Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening," Walt Whitman's "I Hear America Singing," and Ralph Waldo Emerson's "Concord Hymn," as well as poems by Langston Hughes, Emily Dickinson, T. S. Eliot, Marianne Moore, and many other notables. These much-loved verses include  "Casey at the Bat," "Fog," "The New Colossus," "Chicago," "I, Too, Sing America," "O Captain! My Captain!," "Paul Revere's Ride," "The Road Not Taken," "The Raven," "Because I Could Not Stop for Death," "Mending Wall," "The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock," and "The River Merchant's Wife: A Letter."

The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson

This comprehensive and authoritative collection of all 1,775 poems by Emily Dickinson is an essential volume for all lovers of American literature.   Only eleven of Emily Dickinson's poems were published prior to her death in 1886; the startling originality of her work doomed it to obscurity in her lifetime. Early posthumous published collections -- some of them featuring liberally "edited" versions of the poems -- did not fully and accurately represent Dickinson's bold experiments in prosody, her tragic vision, and the range of her intellectual and emotional explorations. Not until the 1955 publication of The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson, were readers able for the first time to appreciate the whole of Dickinson's extraordinary poetic genius. This book, a distillation of the three-volume Complete Poems, brings together the original texts of all 1,775 poems that Emily Dickinson wrote.

Spirit and Flame

Celebrating the creativity of the African American poet, this volume contains over 200 pieces by some of the best poets of the last decade. These span the entire range of African American experience in tanka and sonnets, in the oral tradition, and in lyrics that echo of jazz, hip hop and rap.

Poe: Poems

Poe's poems have been memorized and recited by millions. Among his best-loved works are "The Raven" with its hypnotic chant of "nevermore," and the sensuous and lyrical "Annabel Lee." This collection includes all of Poe's most popular rhymes.

Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair

First published in 1924, Veinte Poemas de Amor y una Cancion Desesperada remains among Neruda's most popular work. Daringly metaphorical, these poems are based upon his own private associations. Their sensuous use of nature symbolism to celebrate love and to express grief has not been supassed in the literature of our century. This edition offers the original Spanish text, with masterly translations by W.S. Merwin on facing pages.

American Indian Poetry

First published in 1918, American Indian Poetry is a pioneer work of remarkable authenticity. Filled with pieces collected from Native Americans in their own languages and translated by leading scholars and poets of the day, it was the first book to give their oral verse its palce as an essential, vibrant part of North American literature. These songs and chants, ancient and modern, speak to the power and poignancy of ordinary life and to the deeply mystical. These are cries from a people at one with both spirit and earth, for all the world to hear and includes works from the major tribes from the Southeast to the Northwest Coast.

Poems of Cabin and Field

"Poems of Cabin and Field" is a collection of eight poems by African American poet Paul Laurence Dunbar, focusing on the experiences of African Americans in the rural South, often depicting their daily life on plantations through the use of Black dialect, and accompanied by photographs taken by the Hampton Institute Camera Club which visually illustrate the poems' themes of labor, community, and resilience in the post-slavery era.

100 Poems from the Japanese

The poems are drawn chiefly from the traditional Manyoshu, Kokinshu and Hyakunin Isshu collections, but there are also examples of haiku and other later forms. The sound of the Japanese texts reproduced in Romaji script and the names of the poets in the calligraphy of Ukai Uchiyama. The translator's introduction gives us basic background on the history and nature of Japanese poetry.

The Penguin Book of First World War Poetry

Reflecting the voices of poets, soldiers, the families they left behind and their comrades who would never return, The Penguin Book of First World War Poetry, previously published as In Flanders Fields, is edited with an introduction by George Walter in Penguin Classics. Unrivalled for its range and intensity, the poetry of the First World War continues to have a powerful effect on readers. This anthology reflects the diverse experience of those who lived through the war - bringing together the words of poets, soldiers and civilians affected by the conflict.  George Walter's introduction discusses the role and scope of First World War poetry anthologies, and how the canon has changed over the years. This edition also contains notes and biographies.

World Poetry

This long-awaited, indispensable volume contains more than 1600 poems drawn from dozens of languages and cultures, and spans a period of more than 4000 years from ancient Sumer and Egypt to the late twentieth century. World Poetry encompasses the many worlds of poetry, poetry of all styles, of all eras, of all tongues: from the ancient epic of Gilgamesh and the Pharaoh Akhnaten's "Hymn to the Sun" to the haiku of Basho and the dazzling imagery of Li Po; from Vedic hymns to Icelandic sagas to the "Carmina Burana"; from the magnificence of Homer and Dante to the lyricism of Goethe and Verlaine; from the piercing insights of Rilke and Yeats to the revelatory verse of Emily Dickinson, Garcia Lorca, Derek Walcott, Seamus Heaney, and many more.

Poems

Tenderly, joyously, sometimes in sadness,nbsp;nbsp;sometimes in pain, Maya Angelou writes from the heart andnbsp;nbsp;celebrates life as only she has discovered it. Innbsp;nbsp;this moving volume of poetry, we hear thenbsp;nbsp;multi-faceted voice of one of the most powerful andnbsp;nbsp;vibrant writers of our time.

These Are Not Sweet Girls : Latin American women poets

This classic brings together an astonishing range of work from the turn of the century to the present. Despite cultural maxims encouraging them to be silent, women continue to speak, often through the language of poetry, where there is an abundance of intuition and the possibility of reclaiming power through language. In the work included here, we see how the common threads of courage and inventiveness can be woven into a bright tapestry of women's voices that presents a true picture of a culture that must create its own history. Over fifty poets, including those well-known, such as Gabriela Mistral, Alfonsina Storni, and Cristina Peri Rossi, and those just emerging are included.

The New Oxford Book of Irish Verse

Never have the immense riches of Irish poetry been displayed to better advantage in this magnificent new collection. The Irish poetic tradition is generally not considered in its entirety. For the poetry in Irish, especially in the early and medieval periods, the emphasis is frequently specialist or linguistic, while the poetry in English is usually considered as an adjunct to the English tradition. Thomas Kinsella's new anthology views the tradition as a whole, with two major bodies of poetry in interaction--sharing, for a great part of their existence, a very painful history. The selection is divided into three "Books."

Selected Poems of William Carlos Williams

Reflects the most up-to-date Williams scholarship with selections arranged in chronological order.

The Penguin Book of Modern African Poetry

An anthology of black African poetry, representing sixty-seven poets and twenty-three countries

Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe

One of the most original American writers, Edgar Allan Poe shaped the development of both the detectvie story and the science-fiction story. Some of his poems--"The Raven," "The Bells," "Annabel Lee"--remain among the most popular in American literature. Poe's tales of the macabre still thrill readers of all ages. Here are familiar favorites like "The Purloined Letter," "The Fall of the House of Usher," and "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," together with less-known masterpieces like "The Imp of the Perverse," "The Narrative of A. Gordon Pym," and "Ligeia," which is now recognized as one of the first science-fiction stories.